• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

3 phase wiring advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Andy

Established Member
Joined
3 Jan 2018
Messages
31
Reaction score
7
Location
Leeds
Hi All
I have just acquired an overhead router and need to put a plug on it. It requires 4 core cable but I'm going to put a 5 pin plug on it as I have a 16amp 5 pin socket already conveniently located nearby. Existing wires are earth, blue, brown and black as per picture below. Question is, which pins on my 5 pin plug do they all go to?
thanks in advance, Andy
IMG_5402.jpg
 

rob1693

Established Member
Joined
4 Nov 2017
Messages
111
Reaction score
143
Location
Sheffield
Brown black grey go to l1 l2 l3 neutral goes to n earth goes to earth terminal
 

Spectric

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Joined
19 Feb 2015
Messages
2,306
Reaction score
1,029
Location
North Cumbria
Do you know how old the wiring is, or have you belled out the wires as it is possible that it is just three phase and earth with no neutral, they have used blue instead of grey. Quick check is what is the starters coil voltage, 230 or 400.
 

rob1693

Established Member
Joined
4 Nov 2017
Messages
111
Reaction score
143
Location
Sheffield
Or blues been used as a phase if it doesn't require a neutral if so connect blue to l3
 

Andy

Established Member
Joined
3 Jan 2018
Messages
31
Reaction score
7
Location
Leeds
Thanks for the responses guys. I'm afraid I don't know how old the wiring is - it's an old machine - a Samco Mini Router ( I don't know why they call it a mini router, it certainly isn't small!)
Spectric - are you saying that if the starters voltage is 400 then they have used blue instead of grey?
thanks, Andy
 

deema

Established Member
Joined
14 Oct 2011
Messages
2,479
Reaction score
219
Location
chester
Get a sparky to wire it up, electricity doesn’t take prisoners, doesn’t give you a tickle as a warning, if you get it wrong your dead and wrong. I say this as you don’t know the difference between line and phase voltage, or the basics of electrics from your responses.
 

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
538
Reaction score
144
Location
Inverness
Brown/blue/black = L1/L2/L3 by the looks of it. A couple of my machines came wired like that. Get some modern 1.5mm2 5-core flex, ideally H07 RNF, and wire as:

Brown/black/grey = L1/L2/L3.

Hook up earth and neutral (N) but terminate the latter in a Wago connector at the motor box. It may come in handy for a worklight or similar. Swap any two L connections if it runs backwards.
 

Spectric

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Joined
19 Feb 2015
Messages
2,306
Reaction score
1,029
Location
North Cumbria
Spectric - are you saying that if the starters voltage is 400 then they have used blue instead of grey?
If a machine does not use the neutral then you only have 400 volts so the contactor coil has to be 400 volts, if it is 230 volts then it must use the neutral.
 

Alli

Established Member
Joined
5 Jan 2012
Messages
158
Reaction score
4
Location
Berkshire
I don't know much about these things but I remember a conversation with a sparky mate I was giving a hand too down an old farm. It had a 2 phase and neutral supply to the farm and I asked why it wasn't three phase as isn't this is what big motors normally need, and I am pretty sure he replied no, you can get 2 phase motors! - it was a good few years ago now, so I might of mis-remembered.

I only mention it as you seem to have 2 phase and neutral if the wiring colours are correct and the blue hasn't been used for a phase conductor. Just before you see that magic smoke you might need to find out which cable is doing what.
 

Andy

Established Member
Joined
3 Jan 2018
Messages
31
Reaction score
7
Location
Leeds
Thanks for all the help guys, this is really useful
 

rob1693

Established Member
Joined
4 Nov 2017
Messages
111
Reaction score
143
Location
Sheffield
A picture of the motor plate should reveal how many phases are required
 

rob1693

Established Member
Joined
4 Nov 2017
Messages
111
Reaction score
143
Location
Sheffield
I presume tri phase in Italian is 3 phase so definitely not 2 its more than likely just 3 phase and earth but if your not competent to determine that with a multimeter like deema said get in a spark
 

MikeK

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
9 Apr 2017
Messages
1,808
Reaction score
692
Location
Gernsheim, Germany
I've seen similar motors in Italian machine shops. This is an Italian asynchronous three-phase two-speed motor. It is rated at 3HP (2.2kW) or 4HP (3kW) and the speeds are 1400 RPM or 2800PRM. I've never bothered to look at the insides of the motor, but I think this motor is a delta configuration with 415V between phases. There might be internal taps in the motor housing to change the speed.

The IP44 means it is protected against solid objects greater than 1mm and water from all directions for up to five minutes. I think all of the motors I saw in machine shops with liquid coolant were IP55 and IP65.
 

Sideways

Established Member
Joined
26 Dec 2017
Messages
1,325
Reaction score
234
Location
United Kingdom
Two speeds quoted => this is a motor capable of being wired as a 2 pole or a 4 pole configuration. Means it has two sets of field coils that can be configured differently.
It is more complex than a basic motor, it operates at a voltage that will kill you without hesitation, and people who are not expert in the field are speculating in this thread.
"This is really useful" advice is tipping over into "this is really dangerous" because he is not competent to be playing with this, you are indirectly encouraging him.
I can see a Darwin award being given in the not so distant future.

Your children can't sue the internet for negligence ...
 

OldWood

Established Member
Joined
1 Mar 2005
Messages
1,068
Reaction score
73
Location
Edinburgh
Further agreement on the competence of the OP, and correspondingly those giving advice. This is not an area to go wandering into without experience and knowledge.

The additional problem is that most sparkies will have a working knowledge of domestic wiring but it requires someone from the industrial world and hence familiar with 3 phase and associated motors to resolve this.

I further agree with MikeK that this is a 2 / 4 pole motor, and hence will have two off 3 sets of wires coming from the motor and that requires further experience to be able to manage. There should be a switch to select low or high speed.

Andy - please do not address this yourself, but find someone who has professional qualifications in wiring this type of machine.

I should add, again from experience in this area, that unless the motor is geared / pulleyed up to considerably higher revs - ie 10,000 - the 1400/2800 revs will give a very poor finish. Just think how fast your bench router runs with its series wound single phase motor. The way this was done on a machine I helped to restore, was to drive a 400Hz ac generator from a mains (ie 50Hz) motor and drive an induction motor from that generator giving 10,000 + revs. It was built originally to machine the bulkheads for the WW2 Mosquito aircraft.
Rob
 

Andy

Established Member
Joined
3 Jan 2018
Messages
31
Reaction score
7
Location
Leeds
In response to OldWood, yes there is a switch to select between low and high speed - see below

There is a pulley giving speeds of 8500rpm and 17,000rpm

Not quite as fast as a Wadkin which I previously had the use of, giving speeds or 12,000 and 24,000rpm, but should be sufficient for my purposes and also much more manageable for a small workshop than the Wadkin (particularly when it comes to moving it!)

cheers, Andy


IMG_5431.jpg
 

Latest posts

Top