3 phase converters

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Artiglio

Established Member
Reaction score
Good day all

I’ve been offered a good deal and first refusal on some retirement machinery, however its all 3 phase and i don’t have it.
Talking to a supplier of convertors, i’m told my needs will be met nicely by a 7.5kw rotary convertor unit. (I’ve supplied ratings of the machines)
I’ve no experience of such things , what experiences does anyone have of such units and any advice would be appreciated.
I’ve no problem in terms of the incoming single phase loads.

Many thanks phil

I don't know much about converters but it sounds high to me check if it's designed for the highest single load (machine with biggest motor)or for the total load(all machines running together) and hopefully someone with proper knowledge will come along! Also would be helpful to know what sized motors we're talking about

As above if you normally work alone then you only need a convertor to supply one of the machines plus an extractor.

The saw and planer are both rated at 4kw and the extractor at 2kw, convertor supplier explained that going that bit higher made for a better starting current that would be kinder to the motors. Plus if in the future i was to get something larger ( very unlikely) it would cover most small workshop sized machines. It would only be one machine at the time plus extraction.

For the task you have described, that sounds like sound advice on the sizing of the converter.
I imagine a rotary converter of that size will cost you a fair bit north of £1000 but will have a resale value when you no longer want it.