1st time installing drawers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

azk404

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Ive made a built-in ply wardrobe and finally managed to get 8x drawers made but now comes time to installing them but I've never done it before so I am not 100% sure on the best way to make sure everything is spaced correctly and level.

There are 2 carcass each with 1x small draw and 3x larger at around 800mm wide (a bit wide I know).

I am using concealed full extension Blum draw sliders.

They will all have false fronts that I would like inset/flush with the front.

I was looking to buy the Kreg jig but I hear its not that great for heavier draws.

Any step by method, tips or great videos that explain it all would be great as the few I have found haven't been that helpful :/

Cheers
A

Attachments

• IMG_0984.jpeg
    IMG_0984.jpeg
    232.9 KB · Views: 0
I suggest you get the blum technical manual info and work out the drilling positions of the holes for the runners you are fitting

generally you need 1 hole at the front and 2 near the rear

make a simple jig -in plywood and drill the holes from that

I recommend your use euro screws for drawer runners which go in a 5mm dia hole

by the way, be careful with the dimensions -for inset drawers I would set the holes 2mm further back than the say. to get the drawers flush to the front, use a batten with protruding screws either side at the back to act as a stop -not required if thats a feature of the runners

as an aside, I use GTV drawer runners -much cheaper than Blum

example: 400mm full extension runners £12.70 incl VAT

https://www.solmer.co.uk/concealed-runners/soft-close-undermounting.html
the only thing is they arent 3D

dont think they are cheap rubbish, they are well made