1/4 sheet palm sander or random orbit sander?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard_C

Established Member
Reaction score
I've no experience of modern sanders, I get by happily with a c. 1960 Black and Decker vibrating sander attached to a drill which came out of my Dad's garage all those years ago.

My daughter is about to buy her first house and will need to be kitted out with a few tools. It's 200 miles away so can't just borrow mine. They already have a decent DeWalt 18v drill driver but that's about it. Its a 1930s house all OK but needs masses of redecoration including much sanding of wood. One living room wall is once-trendy T&G, dare not remove it because it probably covers plaster horrors, which needs sanding and refinishing in some way. Plus window cills, some of the doors ....

She more marathon runner than weightlifter in build so it needs to be reasonably easy to handle. 1/4 sheet (Like the DeWalt DWE6411) looks to be the sort of thing, but I also see random orbit sanders. Budget is limited, don't want to blow it all on a sander when other things are needed.

So the question - what are the + and - of random orbit vs 1/4 sheet for this sort of general purpose work?

The 6411 will be better at getting into corners but will be slower than an ROS. You can easily make your own 1/4 sheets from a 115mm roll although you'll have to punch the holes for dust extraction. For the ROS it's best to fit an intermediate pad to save wear on the expensive base pad - they do wear.
I only use my 6411 for small areas of light sanding. I think it might be an idea to get a decent ROS and consider a cheap detail sander for getting into those tight spots.
Brian

Last edited: