Where to start

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Petey83

Established Member
Reaction score
Now I've got the workshop where I want it I've got some space for a small bench top lathe.

I've never tried turning before or looked at it seriously so no idea what to look for in terms of lathes or tools.

I've got maybe £400 - £500 all in to get going and the lathe needs to be moveable as it'll need to store under my bench when not used.

Help 8)

You can easily spend £500 on tools, a grinder and jig, and a decent chuck.

Get yourself a copy of this https://www.amazon.co.uk/Woodturning-Fo ... 473&sr=8-1 You might find it cheaper but UKWorkshop seems to have had the Sellers effect on the price second hand. Try to join a club - most clubs do free introductory sessions - get some idea what you actually want to do before you commit to buying stuff that's unsuitable for your needs.

Hi Pete