Chip breaker - out of square

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimmy Thomson

Reaction score
The chip breaker on my no. 4 plane is out of square with the sides (see photo below). I'm not entirely sure if this really affects things (complete novice here), but if it does, then I'd like to get that edge square with the sides. My question is: how would I go about getting a precisely square end to the chip breaker? I have a grinder, though that feels too harsh. I'm not convinced that filing will do the job as I'm assuming it's hardened steel (I may well be wrong though). I've tried endless wet&dry paper but am getting nowhere.

It looks like there's about 0.75mm to come off to level it up.

Any thoughts on the best approach would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Jimmy.

IMG_20200117_203259311.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20200117_203259311.jpg
    IMG_20200117_203259311.jpg
    867.2 KB · Views: 557
Jimmy Thomson":pjzfhfs9 said:
I'm not entirely sure if this really affects things (complete novice here)
It depends on how much you use the cap iron.

It wouldn't matter much or at all on a traditional jack or fore plane where the cap iron would be set back a fair bit from the edge, it's potentially a big issue with a smoothing plane or jointer where you should use the cap iron to control tearout – that's what the cap iron is for. You do this by setting the cap iron close to very very close to the edge, that's under 1mm to 0.3mm or less respectively.

Jimmy Thomson":pjzfhfs9 said:
I'm not convinced that filing will do the job as I'm assuming it's hardened steel (I may well be wrong though). I've tried endless wet&dry paper but am getting nowhere.
Well it should be mild steel, which should abrade with no difficulty at all. But how you do it matters greatly, just as it does doing the same thing on a cutting edge incidentally.