CBN wheels

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

screwpainting

Established Member
Reaction score
I've just been looking into sharpening drill bits, as it's something I've never done before but as I am very keen to become increasingly ensconced in my workshop (to avoid the modern world) this looks like a great learning curve and another skill worth having.
Then I found this..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOXXiPK1L4s

These wheels would appear to be the ultimate sharpening aid. No loss of temper, both mental or metal, in the tool (me?) I am trying to sharpen, indestructible, and very safe.

Has anyone got, or used one of these, they do seem to be worth the additional cost.

I've got a 180 grit 40mm x 200mm axi one on a metabo grinder, transformed the way I sharpen. Less risk of burning the steel and also deals with much harder steel, does not wear, does not clog never needs cleaning/dressing.

However the suggestion is that mild steels and anything softer (brass, ali etc) should not be used on them, another issue is that they are heavy and take a while to get to speed

one other benefit I have found is that they sharpen TC masonry bits with ease where I struggled with traditional grinding wheels

and apparently you can remove the large guard as there is no risk of CBN wheels shattering

they have 15mm down the sides as well

A question for Katellwood, did you need to have the CBN wheels balanced or centred on your grinder?

Slightly off topic, but I've just ordered the coarse diamond wheel for my T7 Tormek (unfortunately on 'back order' from Ax) which is similar to a CBN wheel. The issue of grinding softer materials (iron etc) from diamond and less hard wearing CBN wheels can be addressed by using a 400g cleaning stone which makes no difference to the cutting ability of the wheel - Rob