Oak Chair - Joinery Complete

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John15

Established Member
Reaction score
dining chair finished 003.JPG
dining chair finished 004.JPG

Just completed my first dining chair - 3 more to go (maybe). It wasn't the ordeal I had imagined. Even the angled tenons fitted well. I deliberately kept the design simple, using PS's Masterclass example as a guide but much lighter than his as no robust use expected - no lower leg rails for example and all pieces reduced in cross section. I've applied 2 coats of Osmo Polyx matt - not sure if one more is needed. I may pay someone to upholster the seat as I've no experience in that sort of thing.

Edit: Sorry about black line - no idea where it came from!

John

Attachments

• dining chair finished 004.JPG
    dining chair finished 004.JPG
    232.9 KB · Views: 926
  • dining chair finished 003.JPG
    dining chair finished 003.JPG
    243.7 KB · Views: 926
Superb job John! =D>

And it's brilliant to see someone tackling a chair on the forum, I take my hat off to you.

It's probably sensible to use an upholsterer for the seats, I'm happy to pay them to do the job because they're better at it than I am. However, when it comes to drop-in seating like this, then I do provide them with a 12 or 15mm ply insert that's individually fitted for each seat. The reason being that's a job I can do better than the upholsterer.
Chairs-Ply-Bottoms-01.jpg

Chairs-Ply-Bottoms-02.jpg

Take the thickness of the seat covering material with some callipers, add 0.5mm, then leave this gap all around. I normally start with a tightly scribed ply insert then pencil in and remove the required relief. Personally I prefer to just put a rebate in the side and front rails (I only rebate the back rail if it's curved), but there are simpler ways of doing the job.