Can this be rescued?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arron

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,
So I made a spalted beech end grain chopping board,I know spalted wood may not be the best use for a chopping board but I’m still learning #-o

My issue is...after quite a few coats of mineral oil once the board was wet it raised the grain.
Took it back in the shop and sanded again but this time added nearly a whole litre of mineral oil (whilst it kept soaking it up) followed by a beeswax/mineral oil mix.
Just tried it again and the grain is still raising once wet (hammer)

Is it a simple case of it needs more oil or is this because the wood simply isn’t suitable?

I’ve put quite a few hours into this and I’m rather frustrated with myself!

If it helps, the board is 18”x13”x2”

Thanks in advance guys

Attachments

• 8D29475B-40CA-4838-860E-327477483CEA.jpeg
    8D29475B-40CA-4838-860E-327477483CEA.jpeg
    182.3 KB · Views: 368
phil.p":2svnexq7 said:
It's spalted - part rotten - you'd just as well oil sponge.

Wonderful....to the bin it is (hammer)

I should really stick to playing the Xbox :roll:

Before you chuck it in the bin, how much sanding did you do?

The thing about raised grain is you're supposed to sand just that off and no more, this can be maybe a few gentle passes with 240 paper or finer if sanding by hand. If you sand too much you go below the already raised grain, exposing fresh wood which reacts just the same as the wood above it did.

Try some hardwax oil, that might stop it soaking in as much

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Just use it and wash it between uses. It'll decide how it wants to look. It's a chopping board - if you want a permanent pretty finish stick on woodgrain Fablon but don't use it for chopping.

ED65":3qxp7q6w said:
Before you chuck it in the bin, how much sanding did you do?