Sanding

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Garno

Grumpy Old Git
Reaction score
Please be gentle and remember I'm new to all of this wood working malarkey. (homer)

I've spent the last few hours sanding down some wood that I have glued together.
To do this task I have been using a 55W hand held sander from Black and Decker.

Never having used one before I have noticed that I seem to be going through an awful lot of sanding pads, which brings me to my question.
Do I need to be applying a lot of down force pressure when sanding? Or do I just sort of rest the sander on top and let it do the work? Also do I need to follow the grain at all times?

There are some of us out there who have no clue yet still find it enjoyable :p

I'm afraid that if you are trying to smooth out some boards you have glued together that you may be using the wrong tool. If I sand something down like that (I'd prefer to plane it) I would use a belt sander across the grain first to flatten everything. Then with the grain, and then work with finer and finer abrasives. I suspect you may be using an orbital sander, which just vibrates. It's job isn't removal of material so much as polishing. You may have attempted the woodworking equivalent of trying to cut your lawn with a pair of nail scissors.

What type of sander is it? Random orbital (round) or sheet (rectangular)? What grit are you using? Are you using dust extraction? What type of wood is it?

All of these have a factor in clogging up the paper meaning it's less efficient and you have to change pads more often

MattRoberts":rlldtky1 said:
What type of sander is it? Random orbital (round) or sheet (rectangular)? What grit are you using? Are you using dust extraction? What type of wood is it?

All of these have a factor in clogging up the paper meaning it's less efficient and you have to change pads more often