nu-tool wood turning lathe

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pongobear

Reaction score
hi guys I'm new to this wood turning lathe and have a bit of a quandary I bought a nutool lathe for silly money ...well basically got it free with the chisels I bought and I need a chuck for it ...this is where I get confused , not hard normally lol I measured the spindle and it comes up as 19mm on vernier gauge but I can count 8 threads on it and it doesn't match with any advice ive read online any advice please
regards john

hi i did convert it t imperial and it comes out at 3/4 but thread count dousnt seem right
john

It's probably got about half an inch of metal with a thread cut on it. Hold a ruler alongside, count how many whole threads there are in half an inch, multiply by two and you get the "threads per inch" or "tpi".
I agree that it is likely to be 16 tpi.

pongobear":19ids8ox said:
hi i did convert it t imperial and it comes out at 3/4 but thread count doesn't seem right
john

Yes 3/4" = 19.05 mm

You say you 'counted 8 threads' but you don't say over what distance. If there were 8 crests in 1/2" (12.7mm) then that would be 3/4 x 16 as suggested by loftyhermes and is a 'Standard'.

Just googled “nu tool lathe spindle” and The Toolpost & Peter Child both suggest it is 3/4” x 16 tpi.
Have a look at the sites as the quote a model number.

Make sure you are counting whole threads - one crest, one valley.

This one hopefully

Attachments

• s-l400.jpg
    s-l400.jpg
    34.9 KB · Views: 1,967
Can you post a picture of the turning tools, because they look suspiciously like cheap nasty ones. I hope I'm wrong but if they are cheapies then they are likely to put you off turning through sheer frustration.

K