Thickness Planer

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gucu

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi

I am a hobbyist and I like to work with pallet wood. The major problem is all the sanding! I want to automate the job and I am wondering whether a thickness planer will do the work. I have never used one and so don't really know much about it. I understand that it makes them thinner but does it smooth the planks and if so how smooth? Pallet wood is not that wide but would it be a good idea to get something thicker than say 6" in width.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Thanks

Rich

So a there are two main options available to you:

A planer and a drum sander.

A planer is able to remove larger amounts of material than a drum sander (several mm at a time), but unless you get an expensive one, the surface of the wood won't necessarily be ready for finish without some sanding. A lot depends on how sharp the planer blades are, and these can be costly to sharpen yourself and lots of people and them away to be professionally sharpened. Also, if you miss removing a nail in your palette wood, it will really mess your planer blades up.

A drum sander takes much less material off the wood, so relies on the wood being pretty flat to begin with. But it can of course leave a finish ready surface. Drum sanders tend to be a fair bit more expensive though for the equivalent size.

A lot depends on how smooth a surface you're looking to end up with,and how much your budget is.

Hi

Thanks for the reply. I was aiming for smooth as possible. I do reckon on doing some sanding but at the moment I am sanding 3 levels of grit.

I don't have a huge budget but the drum sander does seem to be the right option. Does it have similar problems with blade sharpening please?

Thanks

Rich