Files for scroll saws

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caveman

Established Member
Reaction score
Firstly, hi everybody. Just joined the forum as I am new to the art of woodwork, sort of, having built many yachts and planes over my many years!
I am having a go at building a wooden clock, fancied the challenge, so have bought a scroll saw, which I love but am finding it quite hard to cut out the very small cogs with the saw blades.
I have looked on line and have found some Olson Saw SC42101 pin end Scroll Saw Files which would fit my saw but they do not seem to be available in the UK.
Can anybody help please? Where can I get similar 5" file blades with pin ends in the UK?

Thanks for that, I did see it but then saw the estimated delivery - end of next month!!
Might have to buy that if I can't find one here in the UK.
Surely somebody else must use these???

I suspect your problem with getting detailed gears might be because of the size of the pinned blades. Try some pinless blade adapters.

Also, you could try this...

3fa3c3b3b200ff7dc19a2c6756424d2a--sanding-tips-sanding-wood.jpg

That's a great idea NazNomad but I can't get the adapters supplied with my saw to work, they just break the non pin ended blades as I tighten the two securing hex bolts!

Attachments

• IMG_3274.jpg
    IMG_3274.jpg
    209.5 KB · Views: 1,252
  • IMG_3275.jpg
    IMG_3275.jpg
    204.2 KB · Views: 1,252
NazNomad":18xehnoo said:
What saw is it?

KATSU - the blade attachment system is exactly the same as most others I suspect...........

Attachments

• IMG_3276.jpg
    IMG_3276.jpg
    21.1 KB · Views: 1,250
  • IMG_3277.jpg
    IMG_3277.jpg
    21.4 KB · Views: 1,250
What blades are you using?

If the ones in the photos are the ones you are using they look rather industrial if you don't mind me saying