What Chuck to buy for new Record CL4

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cordy

Established Member
Reaction score
Fairly new to wood-working and enjoy it very much
Planning to buy a new Record CL4 and stand -- going rate about £1K delivered

Not owned a lathe before and looking forward to having a go
Recently joined my local woodturning group at Wigan

Not sure what general purpose chuck to buy; hence this post
Most likely general spindle work and modest sized bowls etc - not pens or similar small items

I know it's possible to turn without a chuck but they seem a very useful tool to have

Buying chisels, sharpening gear and loads of other extras will come in time
Any advice much appreciated

I’m no expert, so I can only offer a layman’s opinion. After lathe, wood and tools I find sharpening to be the most important, next priorities being dust management kit and a chuck. But that’s just me ...more experienced folk will prolly be along and give their opinions too.

Cordy":1zouq25p said:
Fairly new to wood-working and enjoy it very much
Planning to buy a new Record CL4 and stand -- going rate about £1K delivered

Not owned a lathe before and looking forward to having a go
Recently joined my local woodturning group at Wigan

Not sure what general purpose chuck to buy; hence this post
Most likely general spindle work and modest sized bowls etc - not pens or similar small items

I know it's possible to turn without a chuck but they seem a very useful tool to have

Buying chisels, sharpening gear and loads of other extras will come in time
Any advice much appreciated