woodworking machine

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amirkhan

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I am a novice woodworker and doing it regularly as my hobby for the last few years. i am keen to have router a good and reasonable table saw and also planer thicknesser. I have limited space i.e. my single garage. Would you advice me to buy a combination machine and if so which one would you recommend that is small enough yet powerful to do all the routine jobs such as creating windows doors etc. I am open minded and would be grateful for your advice.

Cheers

The four or five-in-one machines require a lot of space around them, so probably not the best solution for a single garage.
The planer/ thicknesser combo is OK in that sense, but not everyone likes them.
Personally, I'd go for individual machines.

HTH

I have a Kity Bestcombi 2000 in a single garage and it works well, it's on wheels because I need to pull it out to use the planer/thicknesser.

The only drawback with combination machines is you need to machine all you components in one go, it's difficult if you need to swap between functions, it does teach you to work logically.

Pete

I would get separates.

A second hand elektra beckum / metabo 260 planer thicknesser is a great compact machine.

I have a planer/thicknesser, table saw,and a full size router table and a large bandsaw all on wheels and it all fits in my 8x12 shed !

dzj":noklz23o said:
The four or five-in-one machines require a lot of space around them, so probably not the best solution for a single garage.
The planer/ thicknesser combo is OK in that sense, but not everyone likes them.
Personally, I'd go for individual machines.

HTH