Sharpening set up

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JWD

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, Hoping you could help me with sorting out a new sharpening system for the lathe.

I'm a beginner turner and appropriately have a beginner lathe - clarke cw12d - Is this worth keeping hold of for occasional turning that wont be very adventurous?
I was thinking of getting a record grinder with the 40mm stone and having a jig attached for repeatable grinds, does anyone have any other ideas that might be better?
many thanks
joe

It all depends on how much you're prepared to spend really. The Sorby Pro-edge is pretty much the most flexible but its a high cost when you're starting out. The record grinders with a jig setup are a perfectly reasonable place to start so I think you're on the right track. Personally I would opt for the 8" wheel version not the 6"

Thanks for the reply!
yeah sub 100 would be ideal so i'm thinking fork out for the 8" wheel and make the jig myself, just wondering if anyone had come across a super cheap alternative.

joe