Sunburst Dining Table

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RogerM

Established Member
Reaction score
Just finished this to go in the corner of our kitchen/breakfast room. it is 134cms across and made from 24mm ply with a sunburst veneer of 2mm American Cherry and Birdseye Maple, separated with a 3mm string of sycamore and ebony. The legs are solid cherry. Finish is a single thin coat of Osmo Raw on the Birdseye Maple to keep it as pale as possible, and then 4 further coats over the whole piece of Osmo Top (satin) which seems to be bombproof. Loads of stuff here that I've never done before so a very steep learning curve to climb, but I had great fun climbing it!

DSC07849-1.jpg

DSC07844-1.jpg

DSC07833-1.jpg

DSC07845-1.jpg

DSC07864-reduced.jpg

DSC07837-1.jpg

Attachments

• DSC07864-reduced.jpg
    DSC07864-reduced.jpg
    309.6 KB · Views: 756
  • DSC07844-1.jpg
    DSC07844-1.jpg
    303.3 KB · Views: 776
  • DSC07833-1.jpg
    DSC07833-1.jpg
    321.2 KB · Views: 757
  • DSC07837-1.jpg
    DSC07837-1.jpg
    283.7 KB · Views: 756
  • DSC07845-1.jpg
    DSC07845-1.jpg
    296.4 KB · Views: 757
  • DSC07849-1.jpg
    DSC07849-1.jpg
    273.4 KB · Views: 757
I salute you Roger, for a first sunburst (or even a hundredth!) that is absolutely incredible.

Almost everyone inserts some sort of motif into the centre to overcome the problem of working with all those feather edges, or to obscure the pivot point from routing out the stringing. I must have done half a dozen sunbursts with expert craftsmen on hand to help before I dared complete a sunburst with nothing in the centre. And that lipping and the stringing all looks totally flawless!

I'm astonished that a hobbyist, self taught and working alone, has pulled this off. Just magnificent work!

=D>

That is awesome stuff Roger - top notch! I’d love to see some wip pics. Really nicely done.