Straightening saws

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beech1948

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm looking for advice about straightening saws.

I have acquired in recent years around a dozen Disstons. My problem saws are a 26" 5pt rip and a 26" 6.5pt rip. Both have a slight kink about 9" up from the end. I have a few others which have more difficult kinks but I have to start somewhere. I have a couple of saws so old and worn out that their next use will be to be cut up as scrapers so I have something to practice on.

I have access to a 20lb anvil, an oak tree stump cut level and levelled and have a selection of ball pein hammers from 4oz to 2.5lb in 4oz steps...and a few others as well but I am not a collector..no sir.

I have some experience of working metal, a good feel for it as well I just need the confidence to have a go.

Anyone done this or can recommend a video or book.

A knotty problem.

Often, very slight bends make little if any difference to sawing provided that the saw is sharp and the set is even and without bias.
Still, it's a pain if a good saw has a kink; even if it is minimal, you're always conscious of it..

Paul Sellers has a video on the subject, even if it confines itself to short tenon saws.

You can judge for yourself:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzc4tQ5CRxk

Good luck.

Thanks for the wkfinetools links . I had already read those but a second read helped a bit.

I am going down to see a blacksmith tomorrow to talk about how to stretch/compress metal when cold and maybe practice a bit.

I also found this book from the early 1900's. "How to Straighten and Gum saws" Not had time to read it yet but early skimming shows promise.

And a Paul Sellers Youtube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzc4tQ5CRxk

And here http://www.carbideprocessors.com/pages/saw-blades/hammering-saw-blades.html