Stots dovetail jig question

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andy F

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hello.

My first post here. I am an absolute novice at everything to do with wood apart from burning it, but I would like to have a go at making various things, some of which involve dovetail joints.

I was looking around at jigs and came across the Stots jig on you tube, but cannot find out where to get one from. Stots seem to have disappeared now - did the chap die or stop making the jigs?

Anyway, my choice of Stots was purely down to cost and that I have a job in mind that will mean dovetailing a piece of wood greater than 12 inches. The other end of the market seems to be the Leigh, with all sorts in between. Is there some consensus about what is the best to buy? or is it just that you get what you pay for. I don't mind spending time setting up and practising, I am fairly patient.

I know it will be a huge subject and everyone will have their favourites, but I would welcome some thoughts.

Thanks

This is the one I use.http://www.rutlands.co.uk/workshop-&-po ... il-systems It is more expensive than when I bought it a few years ago but is IMHO the best to use. i have used many of the other jigs but found this one so easy to set up and use. With some careful measuring you can move the jig along to make longer runs. i looked at the Stotts jig but couldn't find a supplier over here and this looked like the next best thing....and it was. I have made a few toy boxes with it in the past. it takes minutes to set up and works faultlessly. HTH. :wink:

Thanks for the replies. I will have a look to see if I can get the milescraft one in the next few days. If not, I will go for the Dakota.