Starting to work with metal?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Give me a couple of days and ill try to pull out some engineering plans for him to go over of a simple rc car design. He can then modify them as he wants and maybe build some of the parts from plastic with simple hand tools (funny enough wood and plastic can be worked in a similar way) talk to him about a simple aluminium plate chassis (grp would be better as it provides some flex) he can cut with a saw and learn about marking out on. Will also teach him a bit about tolerences.

You should combine his interest in metal and your interest in wood.

A6newp1.jpg

:D

That would be brilliant if you can find them, novocaine. Thank you.
Trevanion - that's a thing of beauty! I remember when I started learning about aesthetics and art, having a chat with my dad about it and he told me that he found beauty in precision machining, I didn't really know what he was talking about then. But I sort of do now, and my boy seems to have inherited his granddad's passion - he actually gets excited about a well-made nut and bolt and will fiddle with them endlessly. I'd imagine there's a huge amount of work in that plane and again, not so sure it'd maintain his enthusiasm without the intention to use it - and I'm not sure the fact I'd use it would quite get him through the build! We'll see...

Hi Chris,

A bit late to this thread. It kind of reminds me somewhat of my journey. :D

School - Maths & Physics, yes. Especially the Applied side of maths. Or called Mechanics these days. LOL

Cad - AutoCad, they probably won't use it in school but it's the premier tool in industry - so would definitely suggest getting to grips with that. The learning curve isn't as steep as you might think.