Stanley Bailey #5 Spring Cap

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve Milne

Established Member
Reaction score
I’m having an issue setting up my Stanley Bailey #5 plane. It is a modern plane, probably from around 2000 or so. It has had no ‘fettling’ done on it.

I am no expert and am just getting back into woodworking after a lengthy hiatus. So it could be something daft that I am doing. But I have been on the old You Tube and am reasonably confident that I am putting it together correctly.

The issue is that the spring cap keeps popping off! I assemble it as I believe I should. The screw sits nicely into the little ‘teardrop’ slot. And it is tightened down so that it snaps solidly into place and I can advance the blade. When I advance the blade it all works as it should. However, when I retract it, the spring cap moves a mm or so upwards (so that the screw is no longer tightly seated in the teardrop slot. After 3 or 4 advance/retracts the spring cap just pops off.

As a comlete beginner I have no idea why it is doing this and therefore I have no idea what I need to do to fix it.

Thanks n anticipation of your assistance.

Possible that you just need a fraction of a turn more on the mounting screw. If that would make it to hard to flip the lever, put a couple of drops of oil on the flip cam mechanism. (I always do that anyway.)

If still no joy, look closely at how the screw sits into the cutout - maybe a little extra countersinking would make it better.

Thanks, Andy. I’ve tried various tensions, but to no avail. I don’t see any countersinking, as such, in the spring blade. Indeed, the ‘squeeze’ is such that it seems destined to want to push the spring blade off in the direction I am seeing.

I've now been and looked at a few planes. On the Stanleys, the top surface of the lever cap is flat, not countersunk. (Other makes vary.)