Snooker Cue Splice Help!?!?!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alex2662

Reaction score
Hello Everybody! I'm a Newbie :D

I have started making a cue and this forum keeps appearing when I Google questions, hopefully this reads well as it’s quite hard to relay my question.

I want to know about the angle of the hand splice, when measuring out my hand splice it “appears” (as I haven’t actually cut and stuck it yet) that the splice detail will be about half the length of the splice timber, I’m making the splice timber about 450-500mm long (from base of cue to start of splice detail). This is if I taper the base of the ash to 1mm at the base of the cue before I actually glue the splice in place. I want to achieve a smaller splice, Do you plane the splice tapers completely straight? Or do you curve them so the splice detail is smaller? Or are my calculations incorrect and will the splice actually be smaller then I’m working it out to be.
Hopefully this makes sense, any queries please ask.

No idea how to make a cue but what I would do is go onto youtube, find an expert or two and pose your question to them.

Andy

Go in a sports shop and take a tape measure, have a browse round their hand spliced cue's. :wink: Some photo's of work in progress would be nice to see.

No pro but there was an article on the back page of a wood working mag , "get wood working " I think , it was on the very last page , it must of been about 2 or 3 years ago but it showed several of the splices used . I dont have the issue any more but some one may have ! it was in a section that covering articles from "old issues" , ie the mag from the 50's 60's .

Sorry I cant help more but it might point you in the right direction

Kind regards Sam