Shooting board help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Si Morris

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to working with wood and I am concentrating on hand tool work. I have just made myself a shooting board, having watched several good online videos, however, it’s performance is terrible and I am hoping an experienced woodworker could tell me what I am doing wrong please. I have tried using a sharp record number 6 on long grain and a veritas low angle block plane on the end grain. I am either taking nothing off or it is digging in. I guess it is my technique? Here are some pictures of the setup.

Any help gratefully received

Si

Attachments

• BC1546A4-BE25-4F6F-9593-8316790C8D6D.jpeg
    BC1546A4-BE25-4F6F-9593-8316790C8D6D.jpeg
    79.9 KB · Views: 1,551
  • 49CEA95E-5F8A-4AD4-969C-2B54E52B5D48.jpeg
    49CEA95E-5F8A-4AD4-969C-2B54E52B5D48.jpeg
    113.4 KB · Views: 1,552
  • B7187968-47CA-40B9-ADF8-01FC0335E492.jpeg
    B7187968-47CA-40B9-ADF8-01FC0335E492.jpeg
    108 KB · Views: 1,551
You say you are new to woodwork so let me check the basics, apologies if this is teaching you to suck eggs.

- I can see a square in your picture so I assume you've checked all of that.
- The shaving you have is a nice continuous piece - is it full width?
- If both of those are ok then I think it's your plane setup. Put your shooting board to one side for a minute and just plane some random piece of stock. Does it take a heavy cut like that? If so then you just need to bring the blade back until it's not cutting at all, then slowly advice it until you take a nice translucent shaving.

If that is the problem, then do some reading on hand planes :).

I agree. That looks much too heavy a cut for shooting, and it's the action for which you need the sharpest blade.