Problem with laminating

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SMALMALEKI

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi
I’m a novice woodworker. Started to build my first workbench. I got some reasonably priced beech wood timbers for the bench top and aprons. (Paul Sellers bench).
I managed to get a very even and flat surface on my test run before joining.
My sawhorses were parallel to the 0.01 degree.
When I glued them and tightened the clamps there was loads of glue oozing out which I cleaned. I don’t know what went wrong and when.
Now I have a laminated worktop which is twisted and uneven.
Could over tightening of clamps cause slipping of the timbers and lifting of the middle timbers?
Is there anything I could had done to avoid it?

Hard to say for sure but when glueing up thick boards the accuracy of the planed edge thats being glued is crucial. If you get them a fraction out of square at one end and spot on at the other and then push them together they will be forced into to twisting. Some pictures might help with diagnosing the problem.

They are all 60*38 mm. I didn’t check individually for edge square unfortunately.
Beside some twist in it it sees the very middle one was pushed up and there is a gradual curve centred in the middle.
I’ve seen some people use another vertical clamping to stop them sliding up but never have done it myself.
I will check edges for next bunch and let you know.

I take it you alternated the clamps top/bottom? If you only clamped on one side the force might be a little uneven and you end up out of level.

I've just done a few worktops - most ok but one went a bit out, boards love to pop up and it can take quite a lot of force to get them down again. The use of cauls across the panel will help but maybe do them in pairs and then put the pairs together and so on.

SMALMALEKI":3phze7nv said: