Making Chisels at home

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

speeder1987

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I've seen post about of people who have made their own chisels. The thing which put me off was the tempering of the chisels as I didn't think I could do it at home, either safely or reliably. Anyway after finding out that a friend of a friend is actually a blacksmith and he is wiling to do the tempering for me properly I am now really tempted to make some chisels.

The only problem is, I have no idea how to do this. I would prefer to make socket chisels as I much prefer the way they look, though I think that that could be quite difficult. In this case I would probably have to stick with tanged chisels. But anyway as a total beginner I have some questions:

1. Does anyone know of any good how to's or guides on how to make a chisel? I've seen one on another forum, but he used a metal lath and a milling machine, of which I have access to neither. Also any recommended metal working books for the beginner?

2. What tools would be required to make a chisel? I have a grinder, but that is about it ....... I'm guessing I would need files / a metal working vice/ hacksaw, I would preferably like to do this with hand tools ..... is this possible?

3. Which stock to get, I was thinking o1 tool steel would be a good start as its not to expensive, but do I start with round or sqaure stock

I really like the idea of making my own tools and would one day like to try my hand at making an infill plane. But I think its probably best to start small lol

Thanks in advance
Cheers
John