Drilling Brass

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard T

Established Member
Reaction score
I've never had a problem drilling brass before, not that I've done a lot of it, as I have only drilled small holes for the likes of woodscrews.

Now I come to drilling holes to tap for lever cap screws it's a different animal. I am a great fan of pilot holes and can drill these without incident but when I came to drill out with a 3/8" bit ... it wouldn't get in to its full diameter before digging in on both sides. I clamped everything tight to the pillar drill table - the belt slipped. Fortunately I have the bits of scrap to practise on so have not ruined any lever caps - yet.

So I did some asking round and some reading and find that I have two options; 1: to buy boring tools - not even sure what I would be looking for there and 2: to put a vertical edge on the drill on either cutting edge with a slip stone so that instead of the edge falling away into the curve of the twist of the drill, it has a small, vertical flat that does the cutting. Much less fierce.

I think I will go for the second option but thought I would ask if anyone else is familiar with this trick before I set upon the relevant drill bits with me oil stone and ruin them for steel. Does it work ??

Many vanks in adthance

Yes number 2, you are effectively cutting out the rake on the cutting edge. Set the correct speed (Zeus?) and you should be fine, however, it may not be a straight forward brass and some are very hard to drill.

You can resharpen them after, there's plenty of videos on you tube showing how to do it. Some people keep a separate set of drills for brass, my father (watchmaker) kept a different set of saws, drills and files for brass.