Plywood retailer - Wiltshire and surrounds or delivery

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HeathRobinson

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a hobby woodworker and am thinking of tackling a few projects that will need some plywood. Bases of boxes, a workbench (ply and mdf) and in the future drawer bottoms and maybe even some veneered stuff beyond that.

I would think that interior grade A-A or A-B stuff would be fine for the bases of boxes and drawers and even the workbench. Question is, where, as a retail customer, can I get this stuff on as as needed basis. I really don't have the space to store a load of it at home. As per thread title, I am in Wiltshire but prepared to travel to surrounds to collect.

I only have a standard hatch back type of car without roof racks so collecting would also mean that the sheets would need to be broken down at least enough to fit in the back otherwise I'll have to investigate delivery or renting a suitable vehicle which seems a bit over the top for a bit of plywood.

As I also don't yet have a circular saw or table saw I tried searching for the sorts of short run CNC places that are rumoured to exist that will take a cut list or CAD drawing and produce the parts for you but no dice here in the UK.

Aside from my router I have been a bit of a galoot up until this requirement for plywood reared it's head so wondering about cutting it. I have read the galootish arguments about how some of the japanese saws and western panel saws are able to cut plywood but require frequent resharpening. Realistically it looks like I may have to abandon my galootish ways in the face of sheet goods unless I can get the stuff cut up for me at source.

Any tips much appreciated,
Simon