New table saw advice - Record, Axminster, Baileigh, Jet?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jackanory

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum but your threads and posts are a great resource and I'm hoping you can help me out.

My dad's hand-me-down Delta table saw has finally bitten the dust (after well over 20 years) and so I'm now looking for a replacement, I know someone posted on this a few days ago but I think I'm looking for something different and so after some advice, especially as "local" stores seem to be selling only online at present so I can't easily see the saws first hand.

I'm just a home woodworker, do a bit of everything but mainly cabinetry. I was saving for a bandsaw but then got gifted an old Record RSBS14 last year so I now have a reasonable budget for a table saw but I'm a bit lost by the huge differences in price and how helpful sliding beams/tables are (have just used a cross cut sled in the past).
I use the table saw more than any other tool (still not got the knack of resawing on the bandsaw) and I've used my table saw to cut rebates for dovetails etc which I really like, but I can't find riving knives on new machines that look like they allow this, (so I assume I might have to do this a different way) but a machine that allows it would be ace!
My previous rip fence was terrible but I got used to it, there now seems to be a huge range of designs, some with a micro adjust feature for accuracy rather than just "tapping it" into place.