Wet Wood & Coal

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geoff_S

Established Member
Reaction score
Does anybody still burn this stuff?

I thought coal had pretty much been replaced by the smokeless manufactured stuff. But then I'm a townie who burns the manufactured stuff and dry wood that I have to buy.

Just wondering.

Well no one in their right mind would burn wet wood. It gives out no heat, clogs your chimney / flue up and blackens the front of the wood burner.

As a rural resident I try and buy/ beg/collect recently felled trees/branches, cut split and then season. It’s unclear whether it’s ok to buy a wet trunk but not ok to buy wet wood that has been cut and split ready for burning that still needs seasoning.

Sounds like another half baked poorly thought out scheme

Richard

RichardG":r649li5z said:
Well no one in their right mind would burn wet wood. It gives out no heat, clogs your chimney / flue up and blackens the front of the wood burner.

As a rural resident I try and buy/ beg/collect recently felled trees/branches, cut split and then season. It’s unclear whether it’s ok to buy a wet trunk but not ok to buy wet wood that has been cut and split ready for burning that still needs seasoning.

Sounds like another half baked poorly thought out scheme

Richard

My thoughts entirely.

When I do venture into London and find myself struggling to breathe, it’s not the sweet smell of burning wood or coal that I notice!

Narrow boats still rely on coal heaters, to a large extent. This is going to cause some chaos and consternation amongst the thousands who live aboard a narrow boat permanently. Goodness knows how owners of traction engines and the like will manage.

MikeG.":3q3emzyz said: