Need for a jointer plane

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cookiemonster

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, first timer here.

I'm an amateur woodworker of about 5 years with a preference for hand tools, due both to lack of a big workshop and some romantic notions about craft skills.

Over time I've accumulated all the bench planes between 3 and 6 and these have served me well on small-to-medium sized furniture projects. The next project may be a bit bigger: a front door with 7 foot stiles that clearly must be prepared straight and square. I was thinking I might need a no.7 jointer for this job (or perhaps even a no.8) but it seems like even those corrugated ones now sell for north of £100 on eBay. So my question is, is a no.7 going to be so much better than a no.6 on long boards that I should swallow it? Or perhaps I could go for a cheaper second-hand wooden jointer?

A 7 will be a bit better than a 6. Longer wood longer plane thing but a 6 could still do it. You just need to take a bit more time checking you are strait and square. Another thing to keep in mind is that a secondhand 7 will likely need some tlc to get it working to your liking and an old woody will odds on need some work. Another thought is if a decent 7 comes along then perhaps sell the 6 to help fund it as I dont see the need in having both. A decent 7 kind of covers the big end of planes.
Regards
John

What he said!

However there is also another way around. Old wooden jointer planes often sell cheap..... or you could make your own. In that case my personal preference would be to use the same blade width as a number 7 but make the body let's say 10 cm longer. To me it seems to become a bit too hard work to flatten the face of a board with a blade that is significantly wider than my number 7 but a bit of extra sole lenght would often be nice.

Welcome to the forum.