Kitchen units

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joshjosh

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi
I'm building a kitchen for myself this year
I'm using b/BB birch ply for the units and wondered what people's thoughts were on what finish to use for the inside? Biggest concern is durability but would also like a natural looking finish, also anyone with experience building higher end kitchens what do you sit your units on, I'm not keen on the plastic feet and wondered if on higher end kitchens you do something different? I could just sit it all on a plinth but think it may make it difficult to remove a unit at a later date if there are any issues it the unit is tight between the plinth and worktop, any input would be great especially from any kitchen makers.
I currently work as a site joiner but would like to transition into this sort of work so I'm using my kitchen as a trial run
Cheers Josh

Unless you are planning on only fitting kitchen base units on laser leveled floors ...?

If not, then you will be glad of the adjustability and weight carrying capacity of a decent sized plastic foot such as this...

BF150_1_LR.jpg

Attachments

• BF150_1_LR.jpg
    BF150_1_LR.jpg
    19 KB · Views: 439
I could easily level a plinth up on a wonky floor but my concern would be needing to remove a unit at a later date. I find the plastic feet flimsy and cheap feeling, granted once the unit is in place that doesn't matter I just wondered if higher end kitchens used a different method

On the rare occasions, over the past 37 years, that I have needed to remove an existing base cabinet, the easiest method has been to remove the plinth, remove the cabinet to cabinet fixings, lower all the legs by about 5mm on the cabinet in question and just slide the cabinet out....Sorted!

Edit.