Looking at changing fluorescents to Led's......

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
just a heads up for any body wanting led lights, lidl are doing 12w led philips circular fittings . they are about 12 ins in diameter so might be handy above benches etc. £11.99 each.
there seems to be a few different designs offered some thinner than others

Hello, I've come late to this conversation, but by profession I'm a lighting design engineer. I design lighting for universities, schools, hospitals and other commercial projects. Mostly what I work with is LED lighting these days.

Before you change your lights you should look at what you already have and see if you can improve it.
If you have really old fittings with BIG fat fluorescent tubes, with fittings that probably hum or buzz, then quite frankly there is 1 course of action - change to LED now. The fat lamps are going obsolete and the lamps probably aren't giving much light anyway compared to what they once did.

If you have fluorescent fittings with middle-sized tubes; probably 36w, 58w or 70w (4ft, 5ft or 6ft long respectively) These may have small, drum shaped starter switches. If they do, then the fittings are old and inefficient. There is also a risk of "stroboscopic effect" on machinery. - This is where the light flashes at a rate that can make moving parts in machines appear as if they're not moving. This is not good. So, again; change the fittings.

If you have the same tubes as above but they don't have starter switches you will possibly find you can improve light level by doing one of 2 of these:
1 - Paint the ceiling, walls etc of the workshop, white. This helps reflect the light back onto your work and gives you more light.
2 - Change the tubes, clean diffusers on the fittings and clean the fittings generally.
You may not believe this, but it's a fact that ALL lighting loses brightness over age.