Career or job

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A career is long term, offers avenues up and requires fertilization and feeding to improve. A job is a broader term.

I think it's a mistake to believe that a career will always be something that you love and just enjoy doing all the time. It may be that sometimes, but the reality that it needs to make money to support your pay and others' pay means that your enjoyment generally takes a back seat to making sure that you're meeting other goals first.

I worked in a furniture factory in college. Assembly line. Mind numbing. I'm an applied mathematician now. There were definitely people who enjoyed the assembly line work more than I enjoy work that I'd consider far more interesting and fulfilling. I have clients, time to bill, budgets to hit (where agreements aren't time related) and no matter how much I like the subject matter, there is always at least half a dozen people who want me to do the work faster so that the budgets look better. It doesn't matter if they're met - if you can do better than meeting them, then do that. If you manage that, then do 10% faster.

Quite often, clients want something done, but they only want to pay for half a job. If professional standards allow, that's what I have to do. It's not particularly enjoyable to do something like that and just caveat areas that you didn't look at (that might have dire consequences if not examined further).

I think I'd go along with RogerS's distinction between career and job.

Neither path is a guarantee of contentment in your working life. My first career was the Army, 22 years of it and it was mostly very fulfilling except where I found myself in circumstances where bureaucrats and pen pushers were deciding what was to be done (or not).