Help identifying wood species

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimromar

Reaction score
Hello everybody.

I'm new and this is my first post, I have been building Oak Framed structures for a few years now and have just received a large order of "oak".

I am thoroughly convinced however that it is not oak.

There is none of the prettiness that oak is famed for and the end grain is just completely bare.

It has no smell and I have had a rusty file sat on it all afternoon in water and there are no black stains at all.

Please have a look if you get chance.

Many thanks

James.

Attachments

• 20191122_174159.jpg
    20191122_174159.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 322
  • 20191122_174159.jpg
    20191122_174159.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 319
  • 20191122_174112.jpg
    20191122_174112.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 320
I'm no expert, but if it's not oak, you're looking for other pale, open grained timbers.
Ash and sweet chestnut spring to mind as possibilities. Of the two, chestnut is probably lighter in weight and a bit softer than oak or ash.

That's Ash. It's cheaper than Oak too, so you've been ripped off there.

Has quite a distinct smell when you're working with it, can't really explain what it smells like but it's sweet.

AndyT":g5902rhx said:
I'm no expert, but if it's not oak, you're looking for other pale, open grained timbers.
Ash and sweet chestnut spring to mind as possibilities. Of the two, chestnut is probably lighter in weight and a bit softer than oak or ash.
Chestnut would have marked with the iron test. :D

Hmm. Thanks for the replies. It's not chestnut, I've worked with that and it splits beautifully and very easily.

So I'm correct then in thinking that there is no way it's oak and everyone thinks ash.

Unbelievable!

It doesn't have much of a smell whereas when I've got oak in the shop it is filled with the lovely smell of it, even before working it..