An End Table...All Done

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeteG

Established Member
Reaction score
Not sure how this is going to turn out but, I'm having a go at an end table. Like the Hexagon shelves, this will be used to display house plants, at the end of the dining table...Timber, I'm using some Beech boards that have been under the car port for around four years. When I was given them, they had been air dried for four years. May be not the best looking boards, but I'm making the most of what I have, and I'm happy to make the most of the quirky bits :D

First thing after cutting one of the boards up to make the top was to remove the bark and then to level it, as it was too wide for the P/T. I've never used a router before to level a board so I was looking forward to this, it's always more fun doing something new for the first time...I had the jig I used to cut grooves in the side panels of the planters, but this would need strengthening with the help of some wall shelving brackets. Resting in the "A" frame of the shed I had four beams around 75 x 100 mm, timber from some old gates I was given last year. I planed these up a few months a go and will eventually be used to make a Pergola, anyway, a couple of these would be perfect as side rails to hold the jig and router. I don't have many 1/2 inch cutters anymore so it was make do with what 1/4 inch I had, thankfully, I had one cutter which I reckoned would do if I took my time. After leveling one side, I turned the wood over and put a piece of 9 mm MDF under it.

Flattening The Top.jpg

Table top finished, time to cut some legs...

Table Top.jpg

I cut this board around half way, bottom part for the legs, no doubt I'll find a use for the top part at some point.

Beech Plank.jpg

I used the track saw to make three shallow cuts and used these as a guide for the jig saw.

Cutting The Legs.jpg