Oops! Tensioner come loose on Aldi/Scheppach machine

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akimmitt

Reaction score
Hello!

First timer poster and absolute newbie here - any help/advice extremely gratefully received.

Picked up a basically new Aldi Workzone machine on eBay last week, and after carefully reading setup and instructions got started with the cow attached.

Decided to experiment with some angle tilt cuts, and about halfway through there's a big clunk and all tension is lost in the blade.
The tensioning mechanism has come loose between the quick release rod and where it should attach to pull up on the bottom tension jaw (piece 9 in the schematic attached).

It feels like it should be a simple fix, but there doesn't seem a way of getting access to it, and I can't get the casing off to have a proper look (though might just be being thick about this).

Any thoughts? Have I completely gubbed my new toy already?

Attachments

• IMG-20190904-WA0006.jpeg
    IMG-20190904-WA0006.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 557
  • IMG_20190908_165722~2.jpg
    IMG_20190908_165722~2.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 557
  • Screenshot_20190909-114837~2.png
    Screenshot_20190909-114837~2.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 558
This machine is basically a Scheppach rebadged as a Workzone

I have one of these but its been a while since I took it apart

If I remember rightly, you need to loosen the bolts/nuts under the cast base to release the side panel to gain access

Unless the lower arm has broken or the rod assembly, you should not have a great problem

I don't suppose you got a receipt with it did you? or can get one from the seller, these machines are warranted for three years, and they do not usually quibble as they just get the money back off the supplier

The lower V block is held by a plate under and the same on the top