Prototyping

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt Estlea

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and metalworking in general so great to meet you all. Been flicking through the past couple of days and found a lot of valuable information on all sorts of things so cheers for that.

I'm currently in the process of prototyping some parts but having trouble working out the order in which to do things. If anyone has any pointers for an absolute newbie it would be greatly appreciated!
BTSG7Q0

These are the parts I'm making. On the left is the main component which will be glued into a wood blank on the 6mm end. The other end will have a ferrule (Pictured right) glued on top. The ferrule is slightly longer than the shaft and will be flush at the front resulting in a overhang at the back thus creating an undercut that will sit tight against the wood blank.

There is also a 0.6mm slot cut through the centre and a hole drilled through at 90 degrees to the slot. This goes through one side of the ferrule and all the way through the internal shaft. You may be lost by now so here is a render of the assembled component.
s3VTs7R

I have since added some grooves to aid the bond of the epoxy I'm using as I had a few that slipped after assembly.
ByvRwZF

As I said, the problem I'm having is the order of operations. The main issue is breakout within the slot when I drill through. This slot is cut to a very tight tolerance to the blade that is due to be inserted. So any swarf left inside will prevent it from bottoming out.

Drilling Hole After Assembly
To ensure the hole on the ferrule and shaft line up, I have been drilling the hole after assembly. This however creates breakout within the slot and I am unable to clean it out due to the ferrule being glued in place.

Drilling Hole Before Slitting