Restoring dark Ercol table to natural wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KatieFrith

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a novice to woodworking/restoration so apologies if these questions seem naive.

I recently bought a second hand Ercol table and chairs set - small rectangular drop leaf table and four goldsmith windsor chairs. They are made of elm I believe and are stained dark.

I would like to remove the dark stain and restore the furniture to its natural wood state. My plan is to hire a small sander to remove the stain, and then I will oil the furniture afterwards. I know the chairs will be fiddly so will start with the table and see how it turns out.

Does this seem like a sensible way to go about such a job? I know some people would use chemical strippers, but I am wary of damaging the wood.

Thanks in advance
Katie

I suspect you will find it difficult to remove the colour, as it probably is not only a coloured finish but the wood is probably dyed underneath it. You could try rubbing through an inconspicuous place, underneath maybe, and see how deep the colour is.

Thanks Phil. Yes, I think I will try a test patch first. The furniture has seen some wear and tear, and there are areas where that has exposed the natural wood, so hopefully it is possible...

KatieFrith":1vrs0inm said:
My plan is to hire a small sander to remove the stain
Apologies, but this is a really bad plan if you're new to sanding Katie.

Sanding off old finish is usually a lot more effort than guides online suggest, and anyway all good finishing books agree chemical stripping is a much better way to remove old finish. Some will even go so far as to say that sanding should be never be used to remove old finish.