Gauge / Scribe stand part

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DigitalM

Established Member
Reaction score
I have a gauge / scribe stand (is that the name!) which is missing a part. I'd like to find one on ebay so I can get this whole again and use it (I'm a total metalwork noob!). I've no idea what this bit is called, which sort of makes setting up a good automated search difficult!

Alternatively, I could buy another whole unit, but then taking parts off that seems wasteful and just creates another incomplete stand. I don't suppose anyone has such a thing available to sell?

Anyway, advice would be appreciated :)

Attachments

• s-l1600-(20).jpg
    s-l1600-(20).jpg
    51 KB · Views: 396
That tool is called a scribing block (that's what I was taught anyway). I use mine regularly in conjunction with a Vee block, a precision rule (6 or 12 inch), a clamp to hold the rule to the Vee block so that it's dead vertical, and a surface plate (in my case a piece of thick glass)

You use it by setting the scriber to whatever dimension you need on the ruler, then transferring that dimension to the work piece, scratching a line. Used carefully they're very accurate.

I've never seen the scriber clamp for sale on it's own and I guess it would be purely a matter of luck if you found one, most probably in a junk shop,etc.

I'd suggest you keep the scribing block to use (without the clamp) for example, as a stand for a DTI (Dial Test Indicator) which generally come with their own clamp which should fit your own block. DTIs are also very useful tools both for setting out and checking (round for example).