WHAT A FIND

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Echo-Star

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all

happy new year to all ukw members

newbie here and 1st post other than putting my workshop dimensions in another topic a few wk back

i've been working on my "new build workshop" for last 4 month, and in the process of cleaning up these 2# beams that I aquired from a job lot of (railway sleepers} that i used to terrace my garden a while back. Knowing these were of different quality than the others by length and weight I set them aside, to be used as roof bearers in my future WS, IE lintle for sliding door and ridge bearer for rafters (sizes 300mmx180mmx5700mm) these beams came from a 100+yr old linoleum factory that had been demolished. anyway i've been working cleaning them up for around a month now, firstly by removing all gunge before planing, burnt out an old B&d powerplaner my father had on 1st face, i had 2nd ryobi that was never going to stand up to the task, so bought myself some tools to get this beam refurb done.Both makita pp £176 and sander £112 and a set of maple chisels £60 to carve out any rot. I've got these monsters all but finnished Yesterday and they are ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. Went surfing lastnight to find out the species, and knowing the charactoristics and every nook and cranny of these beams prsonnaly, then it should'nt be to hard to establish. well it turns out these babies are (Afzelia also known as Doussie) and on the endangered species RED list, along with many others.

now cut down to size 5280mm i have 4x off cut, looking on net i cant find any timber merchant in the uk that has any stock or price for this timber, the only thing i could find was 4x pen blanks on ebay on offer for 40 quid.

any thoughts

cheers lads