Which scrollsaw?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arnold9801

Established Member
Reaction score
I would like to upgrade from a basic hobby scrollsaw. What are the forums views on the most recommended scrollsaw?

The Record and Scheppach seem quite popular on adverts. What are they like or should they be avoided? If so, for which one?

Your view some would be appreciated.

Regards

An awful lot depends on how much you want/are prepared to spend. I have no personal experience of either the Sheppach or Record machines, but according to many posts on here, just about all these machines, including those 2, come from the same (probably Chinese) factory. Nothing wrong with that per se, BUT they just about all seem to be made down to suit a (low) price.

As such they will all definitely cut (!!!) but you will have problems with things like blade changing, pinless blades, perhaps (luck of the draw) not cutting precisely square in the sideways plane, excess vibration, not very good dust clearance (from the cut), etc, etc. In other words, "workable" machines (and at least in some areas improvable) but likely to become somewhat frustrating and irritating in regular use.

That leaves you 2 possibilities - buy SH as and when they come up. IMO you'd be looking at Hegner (still very much THE standard I think, but expensive for what they are now), Delta (I have no experience and quite rare this side of the pond, but have a very good reputation), and Excalibur.

If buying new then the above makes of course, plus Axminster Tools do their own label clones of both the Hegner and Excalibur machines. Again I have no experience of either but again, these Axi machines have a good reputation from posts on here, AND from my own experience, Axi's customer service is 1st class.