Iroko strip double-glazed front door

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matthew

Established Member
Reaction score
A while back I asked for some advice on making a front door - many thanks for the helpful replies, and especially to user Trevanion who shared profiles and advice on weatherseals etc.

Anyway, finally finished this recently! A few glitches - the inevitable router incident or two along the way - I'd do it better the next time but overall still very happy with it.

iroko-front-door-1.jpg

iroko-front-door-2.jpg

iroko-front-door-3.jpg

iroko-front-door-5.jpg

iroko-front-door-7.jpg

front-door-progress-6.jpg

I'm not that good at taking work-in-progress pics! But there are a few more on my blog, linked in my sig. But again, many thanks to all here for the encouragement and inspiration that the forum provides :)

I was wondering how this was coming along. I must admit, that is some very good craftsmanship!

I really like that, definitely not your run of the mill front door. Is that your own design?
Is that a wireless doorbell? I'm guessing the wee panel at the back is removable for access to change batteries.
Well cool, you must be chuffed with that.

Trevanion":h0gk26ck said:
I was wondering how this was coming along. I must admit, that is some very good craftsmanship!

Thanks again for your help - and my thanks for your comment :) My craftsmanship is still a work-in-progress - but this was a challenge, certainly. I think particularly that it was oiled - painting hides a multitude of sins, so I had to approach this as I would a piece of furniture, making everything fit as closely as possible.

Hoping to tackle something smaller next time!

Hot stuff":35t2wm7p said:
I really like that, definitely not your run of the mill front door. Is that your own design?