Shed in a barn

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris152

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm going to build a workshop that'll sit inside a metal barn. It'll sit toward the back of the bay shown in this photo
IMG_1502.jpg

The front face will be in line with the second rsj back from the front of the barn, and will be 4.3 (wide) x 4.6 (deep) x 2.6m (tall - the ceiling will be well short of the top of the barn).
In my mind it'll be a studwork construction using 100 x 47mm timbers at 60cm centres, 50mm celotex in walls and on the ceiling behind OSB. OSB will only be on the inside of the shed. Air will be able to pass between the studwork/ insulation and the wall of the barn. There'll be a layer of dpc between the floor plates and the concrete floor. That's as far as I've got and as some of you might discern, I've little knowledge how best to do this.

The existent walls and roof of the barn are water tight. Do I need to use membranes/ think about further ventilation between the insulation and the internal osb? What other things am I overlooking? An electrician will be taking care of power/ lighting.

Any comments or advice very welcome!
Thanks
Chris

Attachments

• IMG_1502.jpg
    IMG_1502.jpg
    262.8 KB · Views: 338
No, that's fine Chris. Crack on as planned. Just locate your studs to align with your ceiling joists and you'll only need a single wall plate, and make sure your insulation is hard up against the OSB so as not to create unventilated voids. You could put the OSB in place first and push the insulation in afterwards, hard up to it.