Bouncy, bouncy, bouncy...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScaredyCat

Established Member
Reaction score
I've scrolled about 10 reindeer* so far and am getting the hang of things now but I occasionally have an issue. Sometimes the blade seems to grab the wood and I'm left with it bouncing around like a mad kangaroo.

Up until now I've just used brute force and ignorance to stop it, but I can see it being a problem especially if the wood gets away from me and I have my fingers under the arm holding the back of the piece.

What is the recognised method of preventing and dealing with this sort of thing?

* Herd of reindeer. Of course I've heard of reindeer - I'm here all week, try the fish.

gjhimages":qhgds80f said:
Blunt blade?

To be honest I don't really know. I'm totally new to this so I have no idea how to identify that as an issue. It's still cutting, just occasionally grabbing.

A couple of suggestions:

1. Is the blade blunt (i.e. needs a bit more force than normally required to proceed along a straight line or gentle curve cut)?

2. Are you using too coarse a blade? Try going up down a number (e.g. if you're currently using a No. 5, try a number 3 instead);

3. Are you using a reverse tooth blade (first few teeth facing upwards instead of downwards)? If so try a normal blade;

4. Most saws have a hold-down foot. Most of us take them off after the first few cuts, because they tend to get in the way a bit, though they are useful when first starting out, or when helping a newbie to start out. Normally though, I think most people find them a bit of a nuisance - but it does always need a constant downwards pressure on the job when cutting anything, but usually this is only a light pressure - just about only the "weight of you hand";

Hope something in the above helps.

AES":dl0edmtv said:
A couple of suggestions: