Super Glue wood finish. Help scaly white marks in Finish

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Damage8

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to woodworking and this forum and need some expert help. Sorry if this is a bit long.

I recently made a laminated wood solid body electric guitar from multiple off cuts of hardwood (all done by hand) and I needed a clear grain filler and finish, so decided to try super glue. I have however hit a few problems.

As the grain was very open and deep, I applied lots of coats of thick viscosity glue to the guitar until the grain appeared to be filled ~ 10 coats. I then wet sanded it back to 220 and continued to apply multiple coats of thin glue after this. But I didn’t sand the surface back between each subsequent coat and I am now left with a scaly white marks in the finish. I think this is due to either the surface being uneven prior to applying the next coat or putting the next coat on without allowing the previous one to fully dry - so the rubbing in disturbed to previous layer. If someone could tell me what I did wrong, it would help a lot.

So, my questions are:
1) Is there a way to remove the white marks within the finish wood? I have tried sanded them out but they are too deep (even with 60 grit and many hours of sanding) and the finish is too hard. I have tried using super glue de-bonder, which worked a little. It tends to leave patches where it removes all the finish back to the raw wood and strips the finish out of the gain making it un-level again (reversing the grain filling). Its also difficult to remove as it dries fast.