Newbie here and to Scroll Saw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andymc007

Reaction score
Hello,

Delighted to have found this forum and have already read so many great threads.

I am a bit of a late bloomer with wood and have recently had great fun sourcing tools for my newly renovated shed.

I bought an Aldi Scroll saw on a whim and I have immensely enjoyed making wooden animals for my little girl to paint and play with.

I have already come to terms with the fact that the scroll saw I have is basic and the vibrations and blade changing are not really useful to me progressing with the craft.

My dilemma which I hope you can help me with is this- I know if I spend £500-£650 I can get a really good Scroll saw from Hegner or Axminster but what about £250-£350?

It seems that the market is saturated with machines priced at £100-£200 with nothing in between.
Also it seems that these machines have the same issues as the one I have.

I guess I am looking for a scroll saw that has easy blade changing, low vibration and a good reputation within the community. I have seen second hand machines on ebay but most are pickup only and usualy hundred of miles from me.

I am actually pleased at buying my Aldi unit as it has made me practice hard to get it to do the most basic of tasks.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Andy

Hello and welcome.
I had the same problem trying to upgrade my scrollsaw last year. All the good ones were miles away. I kept looking though and eventually found a secondhand Hegner with a foot pedal and I’m highly delighted with it.

I plodded on with the old ferm scrollsaw I had while I was looking for a replacement and like you said it helps with the learning. I liked the ferm scrollsaw but I wanted easier blade changing.

Don’t forget to check out the market place forum on this board as sometimes a scrollsaw comes up for sale.