Table Saw Recommendation

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicole Grace

Reaction score
Hey all,
I'm a newbie woodworker, with my first project being a birch plywood murphy wall-bed, built using only a circular saw and router power tools.

I'm beginning to really enjoy as a hobby and think its about time I get a table saw.What table saw would you recommend for the entry-level hobbyist? I would like to build coffee tables, bookcases, bed frames and probably do some home reno's too.

Thanks in advance!

Hello, if you could answer some questions like those below, you'd stand a better chance of getting what you really want.

What sockets have you got on the wall?
Would you be willing to upgrade if you have only 13amp to 16amp?
Is noise a factor, as induction motors are much quieter?
Is it only yourself in the workshop?
How big of a footprint is the max, if you could roll it out of the way?

How much would you be willing to spend?
Would you be put off buying a secondhand machine and having to do a wee job or two on it if necessary...like making a riving knife for example?

Unless you are cutting a lot of sheet goods a sliding mitre saw may be a better purchase?

This base was constructed entirely with a sliding mitre saw.

Base finished.jpg

Mike

Attachments

• Base finished.jpg
    Base finished.jpg
    76.2 KB · Views: 377
I’d recommend watching some YouTube videos of people using table saws , bandsaws and track saws, then you’ll see how each can be used and what for, may help inform you on whether it’s a tablesaw you need

Also look at the festool MFT (multi function table)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I see your located in the USA which has a different perspective to saws than we do in Europe and the UK.