Feasibility of fabricating part of a universal joint?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
It's 19mm (3/4") OD, and about 65mm (2.5") long; so pretty small.

I've not been able to coax any of the pins out of the central section on this one, but it can be "coaxed" apart.

sploo":2lnluojs said:
It looks to be 3/4" OD, with a 5/8" bore. I'm thinking I could drill and (likely shoddily) mill out enough from a piece of 3/4" steel rod to make a replacement for the damaged end. However, would mild steel (e.g. EN1A or EN3B) be strong enough? I can get some EN8, but would that be feasible to machine with HSS drills and cutters? (yes - I am a noob metalworker)

I may be missing something sploo, but if it were me I'd machine a replacement from solid bar - not too difficult as you have a mill? Why do you think your effort would be shoddy? EN1A or EN3B should be fine, EN8 probably overkill for this application as there is no need to harden. I'm willing to bet a small sum that the original has lasted 40 years without being made from fancy steel. All will machine with HSS cutters.
Rob

I have some solid bar of the right diameter. I don't have a mill (or metalworking skill) ;)

I've got a couple of ideas of how to make a replacement part (including cheating and doing the milling work - slowly - on my CNC router).

I have found a couple of local fabrication places though, so I do plan to contact them to see if they could weld a bit onto the existing damaged part.