Shapeoko 3

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
i dont, however I'm currently saving up for one after months of research on which machine to buy.

yeah, several factors
1) im a mac user, you could not pay me to go back to PC after 18 years using the mac platform (i occasional have to use one & hate it) , so the choices are limited when it comes to cnc that will work well with mac
2) it looks to be far sturdier & better made than the x-crave whichis similar and both are decendents of each other
3) the softwear is easy to use, and straight forwards, i have not used any cad or similar design softewear for 15 years and i want to ease into it
3) spares, customer service backup & mods are readily available
4) ease of build - im new to all this.

p.s - if i was a PC user i would also consider the ooznest machines.

giantbeat":21gpb2fo said:
yeah, several factors
1) im a mac user, you could not pay me to go back to PC after 18 years using the mac platform (i occasional have to use one & hate it) , so the choices are limited when it comes to cnc that will work well with mac
2) it looks to be far sturdier & better made than the x-crave whichis similar and both are decendents of each other
3) the softwear is easy to use, and straight forwards, i have not used any cad or similar design softewear for 15 years and i want to ease into it
3) spares, customer service backup & mods are readily available
4) ease of build - im new to all this.

p.s - if i was a PC user i would also consider the ooznest machines.
Don't base your decision on xcarve reviews older than 18 months old.

Things have moved on a lot.

I have the new 2017 XCarve and it is excellent.

Assembly is splug and play. X Controller is a full all in one unit now.

And most importantly the gantry is one piece and very stiff.

Some reviews say it is better than the Shapeoko 3.