Might buy an old Viceroy - need help with the spindle size

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LewisM

Established Member
Reaction score
I've been attending a turning course for about 6 months and am loving it, but only having access to a lathe for ~6 hours once a week is really holding back how quickly I progress.
I've come into a bit of money so have decided to bite the bullet and buy myself a lathe - I've already got the space, a bandsaw and a set of decent chisels, so once I've got a lathe and a grinder I'm good to go.
I've narrowed it down to either an old Viceroy TDS6 WL, or an almost new Axeminster AWVL 1000.
The TDS6 is the 3 phase model that's got a single phase variable speed converter on it, and as they're both going for about the same amount it's clearly the better choice.

The problem comes from the TDS's non-standard spindle size. Everything I've read online says it's a 1.5" x 8tpi spindle, but when I found the manual it says the following:
"Spindle Bearing; The 1 1/2" diameter 3 M.T. 13/16" bore spindle is made of high tensile steel and is mounted..."
I then looked on Wikipedia, here, but under MT3 there's nothing that matches 1.5". Am I misunderstanding something here?

How hard is it going to be to find converters for the TDS? Much as I really want the variable speed, I appreciate that the AWVL (especially when combining the adjustable pulleys/gears with the speed lever) would tide me over for a couple of years. Am I better off buying the AWVL, or is there somewhere I can just buy a converter for the TDS?

The spindle dimensions you are quoting have nothing to do with the actual spindle nose thread which a Chuck will fit on. (That's the 1.5 X 8 that you quote) just the details of the whole spindle.
The Morse taper is the socket (within the spindle nose) in which you would fit a Drive Centre for turning spindles between centres.